Kent Beecham Named 2018 Construction Intern of the year

March 7, 2019

Beecham receives $10,000 grand prize scholarship in the $50,000 scholarship program acknowledging construction industry interns

SUGAR LAND, TX, March 4, 2019 – Construction software developer HCSS ( celebrated the close of its annual Construction Intern Awards program by presenting Kent Beecham a $10,000 Intern of the Year scholarship check at HCSS’s Users Group Meeting. The fourth-annual Construction Intern Awards presented by HCSS also featured three $4,000 scholarship finalists, 12 weekly $2,000 scholarships and a special Fourth of July $4,000 scholarship. The program was open to students enrolled in a construction-related internship lasting at least two months during the January 2017 – August 2018 school year.

Beecham has a Bachelor of Science in Construction Management and is currently working toward receiving his Master of Business Administration at California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo. He interned with general engineering contractor, John Madonna Construction, San Luis Obispo, Calif., as an operating engineer on the Highway 1 landslide project in Big Sur. He was a dozer-excavator operator.

“Personally, this has been an opportunity of a lifetime that provided an incomparable internship experience,” says Beecham. “John Madonna Construction hired me as an operating engineer, and working 100 hours a week, away from home for month after month, was a challenging and unforgettable experience.” Referencing the HCSS scholarship program, Beecham commented, “It’s an honor to be named Intern of the Year and to receive the $10,000 scholarship. This will go a long way in helping me complete my masters, so I can work in an industry I love.”

Three $4,000 finalist scholarships were received by:

  • Harrison Hayworth, Texas A&M University, interning with Austin Bridge & Road
  • Jessica Francis, West Virginia University, interning with Crown Castle
  • Andrea Diaz, University of South Florida, interning with Granite Construction

The remaining $28,000 in scholarships were awarded to:

  • Sydney Gravitt, The Ohio State University, interning with Corna Kokosing
  • Cassidy Lecours, University of Georgia, interning with E.R. Snell Contractor Inc.
  • Andrew Jehle, Missouri State University, interning with JM Marschuetz Construction Company
  • Hannah Miller, Millersville University, interning with Allen Meyers
  • Justin Brinkley, Washington State University, interning with Skanska USA
  • Brody Gill, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, interning with Allen Gill Construction
  • Preston Thomas, Texas A&M University, interning with Curran Contracting
  • Hailey Edlebeck, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, interning with Michels Corporation
  • Tasia Millward, Georgia Southern University, interning with E.R. Snell Contractor Inc.
  • Harrison Hayworth, Texas A&M University, interning with Austin Bridge & Road
  • Reupena-James Moors, Utah Valley University, interning with Sundt Construction Inc.

“I continue to be amazed at the dedication to the industry and the type of work completed by these highly motivated student-interns. The quality of applicants continues to grow as does the success of the Construction Intern Awards program,” said HCSS CEO Mike Rydin. “These recipients represent future industry leaders who will continue to build America.”

The weekly scholarship winners were selected by online popular votes plus an internal HCSS judging committee. Registrants for the grand prize Intern of the Year competition were judged by a panel of industry experts. “We are humbled by the dedication and appreciate the hours of work donated to the program by our industry experts who served as judges.”  Rydin continues. “Without their efforts and input, the Construction Intern Scholarship program would not be able to achieve this level of success.”

This year’s expert panel included previous Interns of the Year Keith Krass, Rey Diaz, and Chase Ekstam; Pete Ruane, President & CEO of the American Road and Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA); Steve Sandherr, CEO of the Associated General Contractors of America (AGC); Stan Orr, President and CSO of the Association of Equipment Management Professionals (AEMP); Greg Sizemore, Vice President of the Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC); Carl Heinlein, Sr. Safety Consultant – American Contractors Insurance Group; Rick Schwer, President of SGC/SGC Horizon; Stuart Binstock, President & CEO of the Construction Financial Management Association (CFMA); Michael Holland, President of the American Council for Construction Education (ACCE); Lori Brown, Immediate Past President of the Associated

Master everything from OSHA regulations, to high-tech safety equipment in this FREE Special Report: Construction Safety Topics That Can Save Lives. Download it now!

Schools of Construction (ASC); Bill Hillman, CEO of the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA); Marcia Gruver Doyle, Editorial Director, Randall-Reilly; and Steve McGough, President and CFO of HCSS.

Submissions for the 2019 Construction Intern Awards program will open in summer 2019. Visit to learn more.